Anyone can become a footballer. However, being a top soccer player is more than good luck. It takes passion, hard work, patience, perseverance, mental toughness among other qualities. 

In this article, we are going to celebrate various Hispanic soccer players who have, in one way or the other, risen from the ashes and led their teams to win various football awards

Let's delve into specifics.

  • Lionel Messi

Lionel Messi is one of the best soccer players the world has ever witnessed. Currently, he is the only soccer player who has won five FIFA Ballons d'Or and the first player to ever bag himself three European Golden Shoes. 

Messi has broken many soccer world records. He currently holds the record as the player who has scored the most goals in La Liga. Messi's love for football developed when he was a very young boy. He first joined Newell's Old Boys youth team then proceeded to FC Barcelona when he was 13 years old to play for the under-14 team, and the rest is history.

  • Pep Guardiola

Pep Guardiola is the current head coach for Manchester City. Before that, he was a renowned footballer and an amazing mid-fielder, to say the least.

When Barcelona won the 1992 Euro cup and 4 consecutive La Liga cups, Pep was part of the team that led the club to glory. Those were the days when Barcelona was the dream team - it still is. It is in 1997 that he was appointed as the captain for FC Barcelona, a position he held until 2001.

After retiring as a player, Pep started his coaching career. He coached Barcelona B but his highlight came when he left for Bayern Munich in 2013. As a coach, he led Bayern Munich to win the Bundesliga every season he was there until he left in 2016 for Manchester City.

Pep Guardiola is considered one of the best football managers in history as he holds the history for the highest number of consecutive games won in La Liga, the Bundesliga, and the Premier League.

  • David Silva

David Silva is the current captain of Manchester City. He plays either as the attacking midfielder or as a central. 

Silva has impeccable ball-retaining qualities coupled with his (mostly) accurate passing ability, have earned him the nickname 'Merlin'. In the history of the Premier League, he is considered one of the best midfielders in the world.

Before joining Manchester City, Silva played Valencia CF where they won Copa del Rey back in 2008. Silva has won 4 premier league titles, 4 league cups, and two FA cups with Manchester City. However, Silva announced he will be saying goodbye to his teammates at Manchester City at the end of the 2019-20 season.

  • Andres Iniesta

Currently, Iniesta plays as a central midfielder for a Japanese club known as Vissel Kobe. For the most part of his successful career, Iniesta was in Barcelona where he held the captain position for three seasons.

Worldwide, Iniesta is considered one of the best midfielders of all time and an impeccable player of his generation. After 22 years in Barcelona, he is the most decorated Spanish footballer in his time. He possesses 35 trophies altogether, inclusive of 9 La Ligas and 4 UEFA championship titles.

Apart from that, he has been named in the FIFA FIFPro World XI. One of his greatest achievements is when he was named the best player in the UEFA by Europe Awards and also the IFFHS World's Best Playmaker.

  • Diego Maradona

Diego Maradona is currently the coach of Gimnasia de la Plata. He is a retired footballer who as one of the two people who won the FIFA Player of the 20th Century. He is arguably one of the greatest footballers of all time.

He was famous for his dribbling and ball maneuvering skills. He would easily maneuver his way past several players from the opposing side. He was also loved by his teammates. His skills got him the nickname 'The Golden Boy' which lasted until he retired as a footballer.

Maradona has had various awards to his name including the Golden Ball where he was named the tournament's best player. One of his goals was voted by fans on as the 'Goal of the Century'. This was back in 2002.