Tuesday, July 23, 2019 | Updated at 5:34 AM ET


Premio Lo Nuestro 2016: Thalía, Prince Royce and More to Perform, Carlos Vives to Receive Award for Excellence

First Posted: Jan 27, 2016 01:34 PM EST

The first group of performers for Premio Lo Nuestro 2016 have been revealed, along with the news that singer Carlos Vives will be receiving a special honor.

According to Univision, music superstars Thalía, Maluma, Yandel and Prince Royce have all been confirmed to perform at the award ceremony, which celebrates the year's best in music.

Thalía is a two-time nominee in the Pop Album of the Year and Artist of the Year categories.

Reggaeton star Yandel is up for Urban Artist of the Year, while Royce is nominated for several awards in the tropical music categories, including Artist of the Year, Male Artist of the Year, Album of the Year and Song of the Year.

Vives will be receiving the Premio Lo Nuestro Award for Excellence, joining past winners like Celia Cruz, Gloria and Emilio Estefan, Juan Gabriel, Ricky Martin, Marc Anthony, Los Tigres Del Norte, Joan Sebastian and Luis Miguel, to name a few.

Vives' career has spanned over 30 years and has spawned thirteen studio albums and 30 singles. The Colombian artist is credited with mixing rock music with vallenato and cumbia.

On Jan. 26, the singer took to social media to thank Univision and Premio Lo Nuestro for the honor after the announcement was made.

Also confirmed to be attending are regional Mexican music artist Gerardo Ortiz, who is up for four awards, including Album of the Year and Regional Artist of the Year, and Gente de Zona, who are two-time nominees.

According to the official list of nominees, the two most nominated stars are Romeo Santos and Juan Luis Guerra.

Santos is up for Artist of the Year, Tropical Artist of the Year, Male Artist of the Year and Song of The Year. His chances of winning the latter are pretty big considering he has three nominations under that category alone.

Guerra, follows Santos with six nominations. His nominations include Album of the Year, Tropical Album of the Year, Tropical Artist of the Year and Tropical Song of the Year.

Other nominees include J Balvin, Marc Anthony, Ricky Martin, Nicky Jam, Enrique Iglesias, Luis Coronel, Juan Gabriel, Alejandro Sanz, Juanes, Camila, Jesse & Joy, Chino y Nacho and more.

“Premio Lo Nuestro a la Música Latina” will air live from the American Airlines Arena in Miami on Thursday, Feb. 18,

© 2015 Latin Post. All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.
Real Time Analytics