Friday, April 19, 2019 | Updated at 8:32 PM ET


Oscar 2017 Predictions: Montreal World Film Festival winner 'A Father's Will' Will represent Kyrgyzstan

First Posted: Sep 20, 2016 02:00 AM EDT
A Father's Will

Photo : Montreal World Film Festival

Kyrgyzstan has submitted the film “A Father’s Will” to represent the country at the Academy Awards. Directed by Atanyn Kereezi, the film marks the ninth time the country submits to the Oscars.

The movie tells the story of an immigrant that lives in the USA for 15 years and returns to Kyrgyzstan to his family village to fulfill his father’s dying wish. However, his journey leads to discoveries of his family he never knew. The film made its world premiere at the Montreal World Film Festival to rave reviews and won the Best First Feature award.

Kyrgyzstan began submitting in 1998 with the film “Beshkempir: The Adopted Son” and has since submitted inconsistently. Last year it submitted “Heavenly Nomadic,” a film which received it world premiere at the Karlovy Vary Film Festival. With no nominations up to this point the country will now look to the award winning “A Father’s Will" in hopes of either making the January shortlist for the first time or getting nominated for the Oscar. 

However, first it will compete against such acclaimed as "Toni Erdmann," "Julieta," "House of Others," "Sieranevada," "The Ardennes," "Chevalier" and "Mother." Other films that will also be strong competitors include "El Clasico," "From Afar" and "Neruda."

 The Academy is known for choosing some of the most critically acclaimed films out of the festival circuit. Most films that win the category have distribution deals lined up out festivals and have buzz from the beginning of awards season. Recently "Son of Saul," "Ida," "The Great Beauty," and "The Secret in Their Eyes" won the Best Foreign language category.

The Foreign Language Film deadline to submit is Oct. 3. On Jan. 17 the Academy will announce the nine finalists from among the eligible films and on Jan. 24 nominations will be announced. The winner will be announced at the Oscar ceremony on Feb. 26. 

© 2015 Latin Post. All rights reserved. Do not reproduce without permission.
Real Time Analytics